Mosman Art Prize | finalists sally anderson, philjames, matthew johnson and james mcgrath


OLSEN Gallery congratulates Sally Anderson, Philjames, Matthew Johnson and James McGrath on their selection as finalists for Mosman Art Prize, 2019.

Established in 1947, the Mosman Art Prize is Australia’s oldest and most prestigious local government art award. It was founded by the artist, architect and arts advocate, Alderman Allan Gamble, at a time when only a small handful of art prizes were in existence in Australia and the community had very little support and few opportunities to exhibit their work.

As an acquisitive art award for painting, the winning artworks collected form a splendid collection of modern and contemporary Australian art, reflecting all the developments in Australian art practice since 1947. Artists who have won the Mosman Art Prize include Margaret Olley, Guy Warren, Grace Cossington Smith, Weaver Hawkins, Nancy Borlase, Lloyd Rees, Elisabeth Cummings, Adam Cullen, Michael Zavros and Natasha Walsh.


The Mosman Art Prize will run from Wednesday 11 September – Sunday 27 October at Mosman Art Gallery.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *